Begin at the beginning…

Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.

  • Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland.

As an author I live in the land of make-believe. It’s my home, and where I find my friends. Alice in Wonderland was the book that first led me there, as a wide-eyed eight year old first entrusted with the freedom of the local library and all the chapter books at my disposal. Constrained to picture books no longer, I dived in headfirst and came up for air clutching tightly to a battered old copy of Lewis Carroll’s masterpiece.

From that moment I knew what I wanted to do when I grew up. I wanted to write; and not just that, I wanted to create worlds and stories just as rich and full of character as that eponymous tale possessed in such abundance. I was lost to the land of make-believe, and even now some twenty years later I live and breathe the wonder of imagination.

I don’t breathe life into my stories. They breathe life into me.

Leave a Reply

